Teacher Excellence Award Winners

Robyn Yewell, December 2020 Teacher Excellence Award Winner

Tucson Values Teachers (TVT) presented the December Teacher Excellence Award to Robyn Yewell, a 5th grade teacher at Harelson Elementary School. Yewell has taught in Amphi Public Schools for the past nine years.

Yewell was nominated by a parent and district colleague, Vanessa Hill. In her nominating statement, Hill said, “I can honestly say that my daughter, Bijou, is receiving not only an incredibly high quality education, but an engaging and challenging one as well.”

Yewell is currently working on her third advanced degree, Master of Art in Science Teaching, and was recently named an Arizona finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science. In 2017, Yewell was named the Arizona Elementary Science Teacher of the Year.

Hill said, “She is a shining example for teachers everywhere as she individualizes instruction for each of her students during Hybrid Learning making school relevant and important for every child in her class. Mrs. Yewell is an example for her students as a lifelong learner. I’ve known her for eight years and have never known her to not be taking some type of college course in an effort to improve her teaching skills. She has served on many board associations and has the most well-rounded resume of any professional I know.”

Tucson Values Teachers spotlights quality Southern Arizona teachers every month. Teachers are nominated through Tucson Values Teachers’ website by colleagues, students, friends, and other community members. Winners of the Teacher Excellence Award receive $250 cash courtesy of Helios Education Foundation, a $100 gift card for classroom materials, and flowers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + 1 =